Diyjustcuz.com guest post – Tips for beginners and people on a budget

Hello everyone! Today I am up on the Diyjustcuz.com blog with a guest post I wrote for them. When Sam asked me if I wanted to be a part of a scrapbooking series they are doing on their blog, I didn’t have to think twice about it. I wrote a post about tips that might be useful to people who are new to scrapbooking and also tips for people who don’t have that much money to spend on scrapbook products. Make sure you head on over HERE to read it and check out their awesome blog while you are at it too; Diyjustcuz.com

Continue reading to see what kind of layouts I made to showcase some of the tips I mentioned in the blog post.

One of the tips I gave was making your own background by playing around with watercolors. I enjoy doing this every once in a while and usually find myself going to it when I am out of paper – I guess it’s because I don’t really have a choice at that point anymore haha – but it is still fun to do whenever! THIS is what my background looked like before I started laying out my photo and embellishments. As you can see below I ended up covering most of that up. All the papers were bits from leftovers and the embellishments I used were mainly from the Crate Paper Craft Market collection and a few from the Maggie Holmes Confetti line – 2 collections that I both really love and looking forward to creating more layouts with them! Here is what the first layout looks like;guestpostguestpost-closeup2 guestpost-closeup guestpost-closeup3

PRODUCT LIST:

guestpost2

This 2nd layout is a layout I made mainly using the scraps I had left from the Maggie Holmes Open Book collection. I thought I was done with this collection a while ago in terms of being able to make another layout, but when I saw Jen Schow’s 6×6 Paper pad series (specifically THIS episode) I decided to try and get one last layout out of this collection. I added a few bits and pieces from the Craft Market collection by Crate Paper (the stars) and from the Confetti collection (the flower, paperclip, big heart and vellum star). For the few embellishments I used on this layout I am quite pleased with how it looks. Of course in the end I added some pink splatters to the background.

guestpost2-closeup guestpost2-closeup3 guestpost2-closeup2

PRODUCT LIST:

Thank you for looking, hope you like the layouts and that you will have a great easter weekend! I’ll be back on Sunday so I hope you will join me then too. 🙂

– Claudia

4 thoughts on “Diyjustcuz.com guest post – Tips for beginners and people on a budget

    1. Thank you so much Sam 😀 To be honest, it’s only recently that I feel confident enough in my layouts to share them online. I’m thinking of maybe making a throwback post of my first layouts or maybe post layouts that I made and don’t like at all to show that in scrapbooking there is improvement/evolvement too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes!!!! That would be so cool to do. My pages aren’t as beautiful as yours but they HAVE definitely improved from what they were before. I would definitely love to see that, and have confidence you’re awesome!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. ❤ That is so sweet! I think I am going to do that, unfortunately all my older layouts are back home so it's going to have to wait untill may/june but I did prepare a little throwback post with that Maggie Holmes Styleboard collection that came out in February last year so I might post that soon. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

