The Places You’ll Go / Crate Paper Journey

Hey guys! Today I am back sharing another layout and for this one I am using the Crate Paper Journey collection. This lovely collection has a lot of beautiful elements and the colors are really pretty, even though they are a little more muted. I prefer working with bright colors but it’s definitely a good thing to switch it up every once in a while.

journey2

For my background I used this chevron type of background paper that features all the colors in the Journey collection. Making this my background paper meant that it would be really easy for me to pick out some coordinating embellishments because all the colors were already featured on my page. Since the paper is quite busy, I chose to cut of a strip of paper from this grid design that is also in the Journey collection to balance it out a little bit. Working with a busy background paper can be quite challenging and I would definitely suggest to find a more subtle paper to put in the background.

journey2-closeup

The chipboard sheet comes with a lot of travel themed elements, but there are also some that could work with any type of photo. This chipboard piece was perfect for this page and I really like the way it looks. On what other page would I ever use a globe anyway?

journey2-closeup4

One of my favorite things to do when making a layout is layering, sometimes I do a lot of it and other times I don’t do as much – mostly because I can get a bit lazy sometimes. An easy way to layer things for me is to cut things up in half – that means I can layer one piece on the left side and the other one on the right side.

journey2-closeup3

The cork word stickers that came with the collection are really beautiful and match really well with pretty much any project. If you are not a big fan of cork you could consider painting them with acrylic paint.

journey2-closeup2

The last thing I do when making a layout is adding some smaller accents. The puffy stickers from the collection are perfect for this and the pack comes with various elements such as stars, feathers, arrows and more. I think that by adding this, the layout ‘feels’ more complete (before adding the finishing touch of splatters of course).

Process video:

Product list:

Thank you for looking. I hope you will have a wonderful/scrappy weekend and I will be back on Tuesday with my next layout!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

