Sketch It Out with Emma #1 [New Series]

Hello everyone! About a week ago Emma (Polly’s Papercrafts on Youtube) emailed me and asked me if I would be interested in doing a collaboration with her. We exchanged some emails back and forth and decided that it would be nice to work with some sketches to change things up a little.

I’ve been wanting to try sketches for a while but never really came around to it. For this first one, Emma chose this sketch by Shimelle;

f8d4f973a450c31a6e7c47f8dd206a19

I didn’t stick to the sketch 100% but I tried to stick to it as much as I could. This is the layout that I made;

sketchitout1b

The sketch uses a standing up photo but I really wanted to use this photo so that is definitely a little bit different from the original sketch. I guess I could have trimmed my photo and taken off some of the sides but I didn’t really want to take anything away from it. Looking back at it now, I think the end result might have looked better if I had trimmed my photo but it is what it is. I also added the strip of patterned paper down the bottom and the vellum piece at the top. I used different bits and pieces from my stash for this layout but I am planning on sticking to one collection for future sketches (or not, we will see how it goes haha).

sketchitout1-closeup

This butterfly is from the Maggie Holmes Flea Market collection and I absolutely love this piece because not only is it a butterfly, it also has a woodgrain pattern inside of it. I thought this would be a nice addition to the page. The camera is from the Maggie Holmes Confetti sticker sheet and I felt as if this was a perfect photo to use it on. I use a lot of florals on my pages but since the photo is somewhat photography related, it would make all the more sense to use a camera element.

sketchitout1-closeup2

This gold foam thicker is a leftover from the Maggie Holmes Open Book collection. I was a huge fan of these thickers because they just look so pretty and you can kind of bend/curve them to your liking which is really nice. If you are familiar with my layouts, you will probably know that I don’t journal on them because I hate my handwriting. I also feel a bit conflicted as in what language I should write my journaling; I am Dutch but my boyfriend is Danish and English is the language we communicate in. Anyway; since using a sketch is a way for me to get out of my comfort zone, I decided to add some journaling to this page. I think now you can all see that I’m not making it up when I say my handwriting is horrible haha. I doubt I will do it again, unless I print out my journaling or something. To all of you with pretty handwriting; I seriously envy you!

sketchitout1-closeup3

This resin flower came with the Maggie Holmes Flea Market collection as well. I really adore this piece and wish I had a whole container filled with them.

Process video:

Make sure to check out Emma’s video here

Product list:

Thank you for joining me today, make sure to check out Emma’s video here. It was fun to try something different and I’m looking forward to using more sketches in the future. I am also gonna try and work with different color schemes. Pink is definitely my go to color but I think it’s good to play with other colors too. If you have any sketches you would want to me try, feel free to leave it in the comments. I will be back later in the week with another process video. I hope you will have a great day!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

