Sketch It Out with Emma #2 / Maggie Holmes Confetti

Hey everyone! Today I am back with the second episode of our (me and Emma‘s) Sketch It Out series. We have decided to do an episode every other week (for now). This time it was my turn to choose the sketch…

I chose this lovely sketch from the My Scraps & More Sketches blog;

99

sketchitout2

Before I started with the sketch I had a little ‘debate’ with myself on whether I should use white cardstock for my background or patterned paper. I saw this gorgeous paper from the Maggie Holmes Confetti collection and knew that it would make a really lovely background because it’s not super busy. The photo is (again lol) of when I went to visit Romeo this past June and I just loved this photo of us and wanted to document it. I knew that for this layout I wanted to keep the layering to a minimal, so I only mounted my photo on a piece of vellum with gold foiled hearts.

sketchitout2-closeup2

The thing that I liked the most about this sketch is the banner pieces, the Confetti also has these elements both on the sticker sheet and the vellum/acetate ephemera pack so it was a perfect way for me to add those to this page to add a different ‘material’ other than just paper.

sketchitout2-closeup

I also really liked how the sketch put the title at the bottom, which is something that I never do myself. As for the title I brought in this gold foiled chipboard piece from the Chipboard Words Thickers pack that came with the Confetti collection. If you are like me, who has trouble coming up with good titles, these thickers are just the thing for you. I absolutely adore this pack and even though my title still isn’t original; at least it looks good because of that gorgeous scripted font.

sketchitout2-closeup3

The sketch showed to put a heart at the top and though I tried that with one of the chipboard pieces from the Confetti collection, I just felt like it didn’t work and replaced it with this black bow instead. I’ve been wanting to use that for a while but could never find the right layout or spot to put it and I just felt like it looked good right there. Also let’s not forget, I scrapbook photos of Romeo with pink embellishments etc a lot, but at the end of the day he is still a male lol.

sketchitout2-closeup4

I added this ‘good things’ chipboard piece because the color of blue matched Romeo’s halter perfectly! I honestly didn’t know when else I would ever use this chipboard piece so this was the perfect layout to put it on. I also outlined the banners and the little hearts to give them a little bit more definition. Especially the hearts needed it because they were blending in with the background paper so you could barely notice them.

Process video:

Make sure to check out Emma’s take on this sketch here

Product list:

Thank you for looking, I hope you will enjoy the rest of your day. I will be back on Thursday with another layout.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

