Detour / Crate Paper Journey

Hello everyone, today I am sharing another layout using the Crate Paper Journey collection. I’m not sure if I can already call this collection ‘old’ since it came out about 6 months ago but I still want to try and get as many layouts done as possible. journey6

For my background I am using this map type of paper that came with the collection, I thought it would work somewhat nice with the photo. The photo is of when I went to visit my boyfriend in Denmark last year, I loved how pretty the sun looked hiding behind the clouds like that so I had to take a photo of it. If you know me, you will probably know that I love pretty skies and always have to snap a photo whenever one appears.

journey6-closeup4

This gold foiled circle had the star out of it already (I used that one a different layout) and I thought it would be a cool idea to mount a scrap of paper that I had used to mount my photo on behind that. I then put on a foam square sticker to add some dimension to it. I am also a huge fan of those puffy feathers that came with the puffy stickers pack, they are lovely.

journey6-closeup3

Since the photo is related to traveling, I was able to use a few travel related elements that are a big part of the Journey collection (not to worry – they are also a decent amount of everyday elements so even if you don’t want have any travel related photos you can still scrap with this collection). The other day I punched out some hearts and stars from a scrap of paper with gold glitter that I had left from the Maggie Holmes Confetti collection – I added some foam squares again to make the stars stand out on the page as well.

journey6-closeup

Here is a closeup of my little cluster that I made, I love the black & white feather and thought this was the perfect layout to use it on. I also used a cork arrow, which I actually really like (just be careful if you misplace it and then want to take it off because you might tear it apart by accident).

journey6-closeup2

To add a little more interest I punched out a few hearts of a scrap piece of paper. I find that this is a good way to use up your scraps and at the same time you’re adding some more ‘eye-candy’ to your layout; a win-win situation if you ask me. I know I’ve said this before but I am absolutely loving the punches that I got.

Process video:

Product list:

Thank you for joining me, I hope you will enjoy the rest of your day. I will be back after the weekend with my next layout. The other day I uploaded my Kill The Collection video for the Maggie Holmes Confetti collection, check it out HERE if you haven’t seen it already.

test3

Leave a Reply

