Sketch It Out with Emma #4 / Crate Paper Wonder

Hello everyone! Welcome back to my blog. Today I am sharing another layout I made for the Sketch It Out series me and Emma are doing. This time it was my turn to choose a sketch and I decided to go for one that would challenge me to try something a little bit different… 

I chose this sketch that I found on the Citrus Twist Kits blog, you can find the link to the original blog entry here. What drew me to this sketch was that I’d have to use 3 photos and I loved the hearts on the right side (which I don’t even end up putting on my layout haha).

11924292_10200667223839197_2726568734329090835_n

The first thing I do when starting any layout is choose the collection I want to use for it. This time I decided to go with the beautiful Crate Paper Wonder collection because I thought my photos would match some of the elements from that collection perfectly. After choosing the collection, I decide on my color scheme; what kind of feel do I want this layout to have? Do I want to use feminine colors, masculine colors or maybe a mix of both? Since I’ve been using a lot of feminine color schemes recently I wanted to go with a more masculine color scheme for this layout (though there are some hints of pink).

sketchitout4

I purposely did not stick to the sketch 100% because rather than sticking to it all the way, I prefer using it as a jump off point and have it kind of guide me in which direction my layout will go, while still staying true to my own style and ideas. The photos are just of Mickey when he was having a lazy day (so basically any day haha) and I just snapped these photos and thought they were cute. I knew I wanted to use that alarm clock from the ephemera pack because it matches the theme perfectly.

sketchitout4-closeup

I wasn’t really sure on what to use for my title so I just use this chipboard word that says ‘Wonder’. I also used some of those lovely gold glitter shapes to add more gold to the layout. I cut a square in half and used it as photo corners, which I thought was a really great way to use it.

sketchitout4-closeup2

I added a few enamel dots to this layout as well and would you believe me if I told you that these enamel dots aren’t even from the Wonder collection? They are from the Simple Stories Summer Vibes collection but how well do they match these colors? It is a perfect fit. I added that puffy bunny because I just thought it looked cute, sometimes something being cute is enough reason to put it on a layout.

sketchitout4-closeup3

I wanted to use this felt heart on this layout because I love the tone of blue and the texture it adds. I am also becoming a big fan of the sequins, especially because these have adhesive on them so I don’t have to put glue on it (which in my case equals making a mess).

sketchitout4-closeup4

I was looking at the sticker sheet when my eye got caught by this lovely scripty font that said ‘Dream’ . I thought that it would be nice to put it on my layout. I also added a few tiny bits and pieces like those triangle stickers, the punched out hearts and a few stars to add more interest to my page. All in all, I am really happy with how the layout turned out and had a lot of fun creating it.

Process video:

Product list:

Emma’s video:

Thank you so much for joining me today, definitely make sure to check out Emma’s video to see what she did with the sketch. I personally think it’s so awesome to see how different our layouts are from each other each time, even though we used the same sketch. I hope you will have a great day and I will be back soon.

test3

Leave a Reply

