Sketch It Out With Emma #5 / Crate Paper Journey

Hey everyone! Hope you all had a good weekend. Today I am back with the 5th episode of the Sketch It Out series me and Emma are doing. This time it was Emma’s turn to pick a sketch and she chose a sketch by Shimelle…

4886

So like I mentioned above, Emma chose this sketch and it’s from Shimelle’s website. If you want to take a look at the original blog post, you can do so here. I’m going to be honest and say that it wasn’t love at first sight between me and this sketch but I decided to try and make it work. Since the sketch is somewhat simple, it left me a lot of room to just kind of do my own thing and that’s what I did.

sketchitout5-b

I am using the Crate Paper Journey collection for this layout and before I started I had a specific color scheme in mind. I wanted to pull in the yellow, gold, teal, cork colors in the collection. If you’ve seen any of the other layouts I’ve made with this collection you might have seen that I used the pink/red/black/gold color scheme on a few of them so for this layout I wanted to do something completely different. The photo is of when I was flying back to Denmark after a 3 week visit to my family in the Netherlands last March. I had snapped a bunch of photos with my Iphone already at this point so I wanted to take some shots with my DSLR camera for a change. I got quite a few decent shots and this is one of them, who doesn’t enjoy a view as beautiful as that?

sketchitout5-closeup

I love the stars that were on the sketch and I do actually really like how they ended up looking on my layout as well. This is one of those layouts where my star punch came in super handy. Because of the gold glitter accents here and there, I felt like my Heidi Swapp Gold Color Shine would look really pretty with the layout. For my title I grabbed this sticker from the sticker sheet that said ‘Travel’ and I used the cork sticker pack for the word ‘Love’. I like the combination of 2 different fonts to create titles.

sketchitout5-closeup2

I cut a chipboard frame up in half and then layered it behind both sides of the photo. I love how it instantly creates dimension to your page, especially when you layer some bits and pieces on top of it.

sketchitout5-closeup3

The ephemera pack came with a few vellum pieces as well and I thought that this ‘Go’ would be nice to put over my photo. I added that punched out gold glitter heart to add some more gold and interest to the layout. This photo also gives you a nice look at the layering on this layout.

sketchitout5-closeup4 sketchitout5-sidebyside

Here is a nice side by side showing the original sketch (left) and my final layout (right). I think you can see that I definitely stuck to it for some things but still stayed true to my own style while I was making this layout. I wasn’t too sure how this would play out when I started making the layout, but I must admit that I’m actually quite pleased with how this one turned out.

Process video:

Product list:

Thank you for joining me today, I hope you will enjoy the rest of your day. I will be back with another layout later this week!

test3

fb1ig1yt1

One thought on “Sketch It Out With Emma #5 / Crate Paper Journey

Leave a Reply

