I Love Us / Maggie Holmes Shine

Hello everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. Today I am sharing the first layout I made using the new Maggie Holmes Shine collection. It is absolutely gorgeous and I had a hard time deciding on what to use first…

blogshine

Like I mentioned I was completely overwhelmed by all the gorgeous papers and embellishments in this collection. That’s why I decided to just use white cardstock for my background. I’m using this photo of me and Mickey at the playground and it was taken last year by my boyfriend. Mickey would often follow me to the playground and sometimes even into the park (which is right behind the playground) and I just thought it was super cute that he did that. I got the photo printed in black and white and I really like the contrast of it against this colorful collection.

shine1-closeup4

One of the first things I did after filming my haul video, was cutting out the florals out of that gorgeous floral paper that is in the collection. I am not the best at fussy cutting but I must say that I’m quite pleased with the way I cut these florals out. Maybe I am finally getting better at it? In my opinion there can never be too many flowers so if you feel the same way, cutting the florals out of the paper is definitely the way to go.

shine1-closeup3

When I was going through the ephemera I came across this acetate piece that said ‘Remember’ – I thought this would be a nice layout to use it on. I like how this piece has the see through polka dots on it – it makes it look more interesting.

shine1-closeup

I layered my photo a few times and also used the gold glitter heart acetate sheet to mount my photo on, which looks better than I expected it too. I added a yellow puffy sticker to add some more of that yellow color to my layout. To add some more patterns to my page I used the branding strips – I find this is a great way to use those up. They are also great to add a little bit more of a specific color to your layout, like that bright blue/turquoise for example.

shine1-closeup2

Another paper that I really love in this collection is the one with a bunch of frames on it. I cut out a few of those as well and I used one for layering on this layout. I also really liked the acetate piece that says ‘sweet stuff’ which is kind of like a large/differently shaped paperclip.

I finished off my page by adding some of the gold Heidi Swapp Color Shine, I always find that adding splatters is a great way to give your page that ‘finished’ look and feel. Even though I was quite overwhelmed by all the lovely bits in this collection, I’m still quite happy with how this one turned out.

Process video:

Product list:

Thank you for visiting today, I hope you enjoyed seeing my first layout with this awesome new collection. I think I might work with this collection for the next few videos because I’m loving it so much, I’m definitely planning on killing this collection so you will probably see a lot more of Shine in the future – I hope you will join me on Thursday to see the 2nd layout I created. 🙂

test3

One thought on “I Love Us / Maggie Holmes Shine

Leave a Reply

