Sketch It Out With Emma #7 / Maggie Holmes Shine

Hello! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. Today I’m back with the 7th episode of Sketch It Out with Emma. This time it was Emma’s turn to pick a sketch and she chose another sketch by Shimelle…

Ep 7

This is the sketch Emma chose, you can find the original blog post from Shimelle here. I will honestly admit that when I first saw this sketch I wasn’t too sure on what I wanted to do but I decided to take on the challenge and tried to make it work;

sketchitout7

The first thing I did was finding a larger piece that could replace the star in the sketch. For a minute I was thinking that maybe I should draw a star myself and cut it out, but my drawing skills are not that great so I quickly ‘removed’ that idea from my brain. I’m using 2 photos of my brother’s dog Amy (though I consider her more of a family dog haha) and these were taken during a little photoshoot I did with her in the backyard last March. I love doing little photoshoots with my pets!

sketchitout7-closeup

For my title I decided to use this ephemera piece that said ‘Happy Day’ because I thought that it would be an easy and appropriate title. I am really loving the way the birds look in this collection so I had to put one on this layout as well. Isn’t it cute?

sketchitout7-closeup2

I added a lot of little gold touches to this layout because I am absolutely loving the gold trend and hope it will last for a long time. I know not everyone is loving the gold but I certainly do. I love how the gold foam glitter pack has a bunch of elements/shapes rather than just words. That gold bow is adorable!

sketchitout7-closeup3

When I started making this layout I wasn’t planning on adding any yellow to it, but as I went on I thought that a few little pops of yellow might actually look quite nice so I added that circle chipboard piece and a few yellow puffy stickers.

sketchitout7-closeup4

sketchitout7-sidebyside

Here is the side by side comparison, as you can see I stuck to it a little bit but still did my own thing. It would have been better if I had a bigger element in the middle but I didn’t have one that would fit with the rest of my layout. It was definitely interesting to try this type of design though!

Process video:

Product list:

Thank you for joining me today, I hope you enjoyed seeing this layout/process video. I will be back later this week with another layout. The schedule might change a little bit in terms of days I upload because I want to make my CT member layouts for the Scrappery first but I’m sure I will be able to combine both my own channel and the Scrappery. I hope you will enjoy the rest of your day! 🙂

test3

One thought on “Sketch It Out With Emma #7 / Maggie Holmes Shine

Leave a Reply

