Kill The Collection: Dear Lizzy Documentary

Hello! Welcome back to the blog. I hope you had a wonderful weekend. Today I have something a little bit different from my usual posts, but if you have been following me for a while you will probably be familiar with it already; Kill The Collection.

In my Kill The Collection videos I will show you what I have left of a collection and the layouts I created while using it. For this particular ‘episode’ I will be showing you what I have left of the Dear Lizzy Documentary collection. I have done a few process videos using the collection but I have also done a few recently during a little scrappy marathon I did so I will share those with you first.

The first layout I made is one using where my inital plan was to use a lot of the darker pink color. It was only later on that I thought that a little pop of yellow might be a nice touch. I cut out the florals out of a pattern paper that came with the collection and the same goes for the circles;

documentary10documentary10-closeup

Then for the 2nd layout I did I wanted to use a photo of my dog Amber. I realized that I don’t really have that many photos of her and that it was about time I made a layout using her photo. I’m not really sure how I feel about this one yet but I guess it turned out okay. I used a lot of the circles from that patterned paper and kind of put them in a vertical postion on my layout;

documentary7documentary7-closeup

The 3rd layout I made ‘off screen’ is quite a simple one and I think it only took me about 15 minutes to create it. Sometimes less is more, right? I had this large floral sticker left and I knew I just had to use it on a layout because it’s just so gorgeous so that is basically what my inspiration was behind the layout; I wanted to use that floral haha. Have I mentioned how much I love the washi book that came with the collection? It’s all so gorgeous and I have a ton left so I’m sure I will use it in the future;

documentary9documentary9-closeup3

At this point I was kind of getting down to my scraps, I especially had a lot of tiny scraps left from the 6×6 paper pad. I thought that maybe it would be a nice idea to cut a bunch of banner shapes and put them on a layout, so that’s what I did. I also cut a few banners from the vellum piece of paper that came with the collection to add a different texture to the banners. I am using a photo of my fur baby Mickey and I used the gold puffy thickers to create (part of) my title. I think this is probably my favorite layout I have created with this collection and it’s such a good way to use up some of your scraps;

documentary8documentary8-closeup

So with the last layout I still wanted to use up as much as I could using the 6×6 paper pad. A lot of the scraps I had were pieces that were left from the paper after I had used it as a mount for a photo on another layout. This usually means that you have a decent sized strip left (depending on the size of your photo of course), so I had a lot of those scraps. I have done similar designs in the past where I would put the scraps vertically so for this one I wanted to put them horizontally. Again; this is also a perfect way to use up any scraps you have left. I think this is also the only layout I made using this collection where I used more than 1 photo. I added this cute cork bow which came with one of my Scrappery kits and I just love the way that looks;

documentary11documentary11-closeup

These are all the layouts I have made that do not have a process video, in the video down below you can see what I have left of the collection and all the layouts with it;

You can view the playlist which contains all the videos I made using the collection here.

Thank you so much for stopping by today, I hope you enjoyed today’s post. I received my first kit from the Scrapbook Circle as a design team member and I’m so excited to show you what it looks like – it truly is gorgeous and I fell in love with it instantly. I can’t wait to start creating! I will be back with another layout later this week, I hope you will join me again then.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

