Kill A Kit: Scrapbook Circle May 2016 Kit

Hello! Welcome back to the blog. Today I have a few layouts to share I made using the May Scrapbook Circle kit. Knowing that the June kits were on their way to me (it’s here now – yay!) I wanted to finish things up with the May kit before moving on. I always try and do as many process videos as I can, but I must admit that it was quite nice to just sit down and create without having to think about the recording aspect of things.

scrapbookcirclemay9

For this layout I used this striped paper from the Dear Lizzy Happy Place collection and added some pink watercolor to create a little bit of interest. After that I also colored some of the small flowers that I had cut out of a paper from the Pinkfresh Studio Felicity collection which also came in the kit. I then proceeded to add things to my layout and finished it up with adding some gold Heidi Swapp color shine.

scrapbookcirclemay10

I wanted to make a layout with the kit that was a little less colorful than others I had done. I added lots of gold with a pop of brown, pink, silver and pink to make it look more interesting. I placed the photos in an angle because I thought it would be more interesting and wanted to try something else for a change. The last thing I did was add a few strips of patterned paper to the bottom and left side to make it look a bit less plain.

scrapbookcirclemay8

The 3rd layout (and the final layout of the day I did) was one where I wasn’t quite sure on where it was going at the start but in the end I’m happy with how it turned out. I cut out these X shapes from a paper that came in the kit from the Maggie Holmes Bloom collection to create a bit more interest in the background. Again I pulled in some of those florals I had watercolored. After this layout was done I was debating on whether I should consider this kit killed or try and do one more layout. I thought that with a little bit of improvising I should be able to do one more so here’s the final layout I did with this kit;

scrapbookcirclemay7

I used the thickers from the Fancy Free collection which came in one of the add on kits this month and randomly placed them on the right side of my layout. There’s not really any reasoning as to what order I placed them in. I thought this was a fun way to use these up and add color and dimension to my layout at the same time. For my layering I just used scraps pieces of paper and tried to make it work which I think worked out nicely. I added some sequins on the layout to create an extra pop of black / silver.

I also filmed a video showing the papers and embellishments I have left of the kit and talk about these layouts;

So that’s it… I officially consider this May kit ‘killed’ . I actually really enjoyed creating these last few layouts because working with scraps makes it easier for me to get creative with filling up my pages. I hope you enjoyed seeing these layouts. I will be uploading a haul video of the June kits in a few days so keep an eye out on my Youtube channel for that. I hope you’ll have a great day!

xoxo

claudia

fb1 ig1 yt1

One thought on “Kill A Kit: Scrapbook Circle May 2016 Kit

Leave a Reply

