Sketch It Out with Emma #9 / Scrapbook Circle June Kit

Hello! Welcome back to the blog. Today I am super excited to be bringing you a new episode of the Sketch It Out series I’m doing with Emma (aka Pollyspapercrafts). It feels like forever since we last posted a video for the series, which in a way is kind of true because the last video was uploaded before Christmas. We have been wanting to bring the series back for a long time but things kept getting in the way but now we are finally back! I hope you are as excited as I am, I have loved doing this series so far and hope to continue it for a long time.

If you’re not familiar with what the series is about, me and Emma take turns on choosing a sketch and then we both create a layout using the same sketch. Very simple concept, but a lot of fun regardless. This time it was Emma’s turn to pick a sketch and she chose this sketch from Pagemaps;

octmap3_1

She found the sketch on Pinterest but a little digging through the Pagemaps website brings me to this page where it was originally posted.

I will honestly admit that at first glance I wasn’t really sure on how to use this sketch. I didn’t know which photo to use, what collection would be best, how to approach it, etc. Maybe it also has to do with the fact that it had been a while since I worked with a sketch. Eventually I decided to just use the Scrapbook Circle June kit and I found a photo that worked perfectly with the colors in that kit and with the sketch. I usually like to trim down my photo as much as I can, but with this particular one there wasn’t really anything I could cut off without ruining the photo.

I then realized that using a sketch doesn’t mean that you have to stick to it 100% and that I can still do whatever I want. So that’s what I did; I picked a few things from the sketch that I did like and did my own thing for most of it. In the side by side photo down below I do think you see the similarities between the sketch and the layout I created.

sketchitout9sketchitout9-closeupsketchitout9-closeup2sketchitout9-closeup3sketchitout9-sidebyside

PROCESS VIDEO

EMMA’S VIDEO:

Thank you so much for joining me today. I hope you enjoyed seeing this layout and will feel inspired in trying out sketches yourself. I definitely recommend checking out Emma’s video as well, because it’s really interesting to see how someone else uses the same sketch and comes up with something that looks completely different to my layout.

xoxo

claudia

fb1 ig1 yt1

Leave a Reply

