Sketch It Out with Emma #10 / Paige Evans Fancy Free

Hello! Welcome back to the blog. Today I’m back with another episode of the Sketch It Out series me and Emma are doing. This time it was my turn to pick a sketch and I chose this awesome sketch designed by Laura Rumble. I found the sketch on the Like For Ever blog and instantly fell in love with it. You can check out the post here.

Sometimes the hardest part for me is to decide which collection to use but with this sketch I instantly knew that I wanted to use the Fancy Free collection by Paige Evans/Pink Paislee. I had an idea of what I wanted the layout to look like which made the process so much easier.

13502153_1563054907322003_6962016734232779237_n

Here is my layout;

sketchitout10

I used a frame from the chipboard sheet because I thought that it would look nice. Because the pattern on the frame is quite busy, I wanted the paper strip in the background to be more subtle. I seriously love all the papers from this collection so it was quite hard to pick one paper to use, but I ended up going for the paper with the soft pink color because I wanted the feel of the layout to be soft and light.

sketchitout10-closeup

The silver foamed ‘Hello’ I used for my title is actually from the Pink Paislee Cedar Lane collection which I had received in one of the Scrappery kits at the beginning of the year. I wasn’t sure on how to use these silver words because I usually use gold but this collection has silver in it so I figured it was a perfect match. I also quite like the pink outlining because it just add an extra pop of pink which in my book is never a bad thing.

sketchitout10-closeup2

I love florals so much, so I was happy to see a gorgeous floral paper in this collection. I sat down and cut a bunch of them out and added a few on this layout because florals make everything so much better (in my opinion, anyway).

sketchitout10-closeup3

I also added some vellum butterflies, which Laura also used on her layout using the sketch. The idea was kind of inspired by her but I’ve been wanting to try something like this for a long time and felt that this layout was the perfect one. I don’t have a die cutting machine or a punch so I used an ephemera piece from one of my printable collections to trace the butterfly shape, then stuck that down on vellum with a little bit of glue and cut around it. I think they turned out quite nice and I’m sure I will use these more often in the future. I’m thinking of trying to make some layered ones too.

As always, we can’t have a Sketch It Out without a little side by side comparison, so here you go;

sketchitout10-sidebyside

PROCESS VIDEO

EMMA’S VIDEO

Thank you so much for joining me today! I hope you like the layout, I’m really happy with how it turned out. Make sure to check out Emma’s video too. I will be back with another layout soon. Have a great day!

xoxo

claudia

fb1 ig1 yt1

One thought on “Sketch It Out with Emma #10 / Paige Evans Fancy Free

  1. Beautiful layout!! I really love it when a scrapper uses a sketch and they also show a side by side of the sketch and the finished layout. It really gives me inspiration, especially when I want to scrape but have “scrapper’s block”. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

