Sketch It Out with Emma #12 / Wonderful Life

Hello! Welcome back to the blog. I hope you are doing well. Today I’m sharing the next layout for the Sketch It Out series I’m doing with Emma. This time it was my turn to pick a sketch again and I chose this amazing sketch by the talented Heather Leopard;

January 2016 She is Fierce Sketch_Layout by Heather Leopard2

When I saw the sketch I instantly loved it and knew I wanted to use it for a future episode of Sketch It Out and today is finally the day where we used it. I loved how the (half) squares form a geometrical heart and to met it almost looks like a cutfile.

For this layout I’m using my own printable/digital collection ‘Wonderful Life’ which is my latest collection. In the collection there’s a paper with a lot of squares and I thought it would be the perfect paper to use for this sketch. I cut out the squares, cut them in half, a started playing around with my positioning.

sketchitout12

I ‘framed’ the heart shape with a thin washi roll I have in my stash, it’s from Little B and it has gold foiled xo’s on it.

sketchitout12-closeup

I love butterflies so I decided to make a layered butterfly using this pink paper which has a subtle wooden effect on it. I then added a gold glittered butterfly on top of it which I had punched out.

sketchitout12-closeup2

I wanted to decorate my my layout a bit more, so I added a few sequins from Spiegelmom Scraps to add a little pop of color to certain areas.sketchitout12-closeup3sketchitout12-closeup4

Here is the side by side comparison;

sketchitout12-sidebyside

PROCESS VIDEO

This is the first time I’ve used any of my own collections for the series so I thought I would give my viewers/readers the chance to try out my collections too (click the image to go to my shop);

sketchitout-discount

Thank you so much for joining me today! I hope you enjoyed the layout. Make sure to check out Emma’s take on the sketch here. I hope to be back with more layouts soon!

xoxo

claudia

Leave a Reply

