Awesome / Craft Knife Tutorial

Hello! Welcome back to the blog. Today I’m sharing something a little bit different; a tutorial on using the craft knife. Until about a week ago I never used mine, to be honest I was quite bad with it but I decided to practice with it and now I’m a lot more confident in using it. I feel like there’s so many things you can do with it, so I want to share that with you.

Like many other people I don’t own a silhouette or any other die cutting machine. I often wish I did but instead of feeling bad about it I try to think of ways to get a similar effect on my layouts.

One of the most important things for me when I use my crafting knife is something to use for tracing. This can be anything from a sticker, ephemera piece, acetate, etc. I’m sure you have something in your stash that you could use. For this tutorial I pulled out this acetate word that says ‘Awesome’ and it’s from the Pinkfresh Studio Life Noted collection. I’ll definitely use it in the future but I saw some possibilities with tracing it so I wanted to use it for that first.

awesome-tutorial

After that I selected some papers I wanted to use for the tracing. I wanted to make a layout with the Maggie Holmes Shine collection so I got my 6×6 paper pad and pulled out some patterns that fit with the color scheme I had in mind.

awesome-tutorial2

The next thing I did was trace the shape. This can be a bit tricky because the die cut (or whatever you are using) might move so I would suggest to be careful with tracing. As you can see I flipped the word to trace because if you don’t and you flip it over when you’re done it will be mirrored. This is probably common sense but the first time I tried to do letters I totally messed up. I’m using a (thin) fine liner for the tracing but you could also use a pencil, I prefer using the fine liner because it’s just easier to see.

awesome-tutorial3

After I’m done with the tracing I pulled out my crafting knife to cut out the parts in the middle of the die cut.

awesome-tutorial4

When I was done with it, I flipped over my paper and there you go; a perfectly trace image ready to use on any project you can imagine.

awesome-tutorial5

My idea involved using multiple patterns with this word so I repeated the steps mentioned earlier a few times until I was happy with the amount I had.

awesome-tutorial6

This last step is completely optional but I thought it would be nice to give my letters a bit more definition by outlining them – this makes them stand out more.

Here is the layout I made using them;

shine9

You can also watch the process of how I made this layout;

Thank you so much for joining me today, I hope you found this tutorial somewhat useful and that you like the layout I created with it. I’ll be back with more layouts soon. Have a great day!

xoxo

claudia

2 thoughts on “Awesome / Craft Knife Tutorial

Leave a Reply

