Kill A Kit : Scrapbook Circle June 2016

Hello! Welcome back to the blog. Today I’m sharing a few more layouts I did with the Scrapbook Circle June kit (+ add on). I wasn’t really planning on doing more layouts with this kit but when I looked at all the things I had left (and how pretty all of it was) I couldn’t resist the urge to try and ‘kill’ it so that’s what I did. As much as I love working with my kits when I’ve just received them, there’s something challenging about working with leftovers that motivates me to think of more creative ways to use things up.

There are no process videos for any of these layouts but I do show them in the video down below which is also the video where I’m showing everything I have left (mostly scraps, of course).

For this first layout I’m using this really cute photo of Mickey and I will tell you that this layout was supposed to look so much different than it turned out in the end haha. I originally wanted to use a pink, black and yellow color scheme but as you can see I added some other colors too. I actually love that navy/purple kind of tone from the Amy Tangerine Better Together collection. I mixed several alphas for my title, some of which came from a different kit. I also added a few sequins from Spiegelmom Scraps;

scrapbookcirclejune5

For this next one I mainly used bits and pieces from the Amy Tangerine Better Together collection (the add on kit for June came with the sticker book so that provided me with a lot of options to choose from). I pulled it a scrap piece of paper I had left from the April kit because it’s from the same collection. I mainly focused on layering and ripped of the edges to make it look more interesting; something I really love but don’t do as often as I should! I pulled in a few other bits and pieces from the kit to finish it off;

scrapbookcirclejune7

For the final collection I was inspired by this paper from the Pinkfresh Studio Felicity paper which could also be used as a cut apart paper. Since I had so much of it left but thought it was too busy to use as a full background, I cut off a large strip off of it and placed it on my background. This was a great way to make my background look more interesting. Then I started working on the layers behind my photo, using the few scrap pieces of paper I had left. After that I started to embellish my layout, again I mainly used the sticker book from the Amy Tangerine Better Together collection which came in the add on. The word stickers are from the Dear Lizzy Happy Place collection and I got those in the April kit but figured they would be a nice fit for this layout too so I pulled them out of my stash. To finish off the layout I added some gold splatters using my Heidi Swapp Color Shine. I really like the contrast of my black and white photo against the colors in the background/embellishments.

scrapbookcirclejune6

Make sure to check out the Scrapbook Circle kits if you aren’t familiar with them yet. The kits are beautiful and I love working with them. Thank you for joining me today, I hope you enjoyed seeing this layout. I will be back with another one soon. Have a great day!

xoxo

claudia

Leave a Reply

