Love This Day / Maggie Holmes Shine

Hello! Thank you for joining me again today. This is the 3rd layout this week that I’m sharing using the Maggie Holmes Shine collection (2 more to go!). For this one I wanted to do something a little bit different and when I started this I had no idea if it would turn out like I had mind. The Shine collection has this gorgeous abstract triangle paper which has all the colors in the collection, it’s probably one of my favorite papers ever. I wanted to use it as a full background but thought the paper was a bit too busy to use it as it was. I then decided to take out my crafting knife and cut out some of the triangles, leaving them ’empty’. When I had cut out a decent amount of the triangles, I stuck down what I had left of the paper on top of a more subtle paper (in this case I chose the one with the music notes). In doing this I still had the color pop from the original paper in my background, but by adding that subtle pattern behind the open spaces it wasn’t too much.

shine12

Because there’s so many colors going on in the background already, I decided it was probably the easiest to use a black and white photo (I also just really love the look of black and white photos). This is a somewhat old photo of Cupido (aka Romeo) from 2012 and I remember taking this during a really nice summer evening. There’s nothing I loved more than spending time with him, especially during summer when the weather was (often) really nice.

shine12-closeup

 I layered this really cute frame from the chipboard sheet behind my photo to add some extra dimension.

shine12-closeup3

The florals in this collection are amazing and I probably could have used any of them on the layout but I decided on using this brown floral because it’s a more muted color and let’s face it; the layout had more than enough bright colors already haha.

shine12-closeup2

I absolutely love the Shine ephemera pack but I struggled a little bit with using up the acetate pieces so I decided to stick it on top of a white paper so it’s not see through anymore.shine12-closeup4

I used a ton of layers on this layout (or at least that’s how I feel about them) – the good thing about having a colorful background is that it’s really easy to find matching papers for your layering because ‘anything goes’. I love how these layers turned out, I used a few scraps from the 6×6 paper pad as well.

PROCESS VIDEO

Thank you so much for joining me today, I hope you enjoyed seeing this layout. I will be back tomorrow with another one. Have a wonderful day!

xoxo

claudia

 

Leave a Reply

