This Makes Me Smile / Maggie Holmes Gather

Hello! Welcome back to the blog. Today I’m sharing the first layout I created with the Maggie Holmes Gather collection. I got the collection about 2 weeks ago and I honestly had no idea what I wanted to create. I decided to choose the colors I wanted to use first, I ended up going with a royal blue / (soft) pink and black color scheme because I love how those colors look together.

gather01

I’m using an old(er) photo for this layout and I chose to scrap it in black and white for this layout. Looking at it now I think that maybe it would have been better to go with a colored photo instead but I’m not going to change it.

I selected some papers from the 6×6 paper pad that I thought would work well with my color scheme. I also used that gorgeous vellum specialty paper from the Pinkfresh Studio Indigo Hills collection for layering.

gather01-closeup

In the photo above you can see all the layers really well. I don’t use labels for journaling so I like to cut them in half and use them for layering instead.

gather01-closeup2

Everyone who knows Maggie’s collections knows that her florals are amazing and the florals in this collection are no different. I love the ‘vintage’ look of these ones. At first I wasn’t sure how I felt about the acetate floral and thought I would probably mount it on top of a white piece of cardstock but I actually liked how it looked layered behind my photo so I decided to keep it the way it was.

gather01-closeup3

The embellishment pack which features things such as wood buttons, enamel stickers, banners and more is probably my favorite item from the collection. I love the dimension this bow adds to the layout and the fact that it has gold glitter makes me love it even more.

gather01-closeup4

PROCESS VIDEO

Thank you so much for joining me today. I hope you enjoyed seeing this layout.  I will be back with another one soon. Have a great day!

xoxo

claudia

Leave a Reply

